Can’t find what you’re looking for? Chances are we can order it for you.
Request Form
Register
My Account
My Wishlist
Item added Item updated Item removed

No products in the basket.

Free delivery within Ireland (ROI & NI) on orders over €50

In the tradition of Frank McCourt's Angela's Ashes and Alice Taylor's To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan's We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s. Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish midlands, spent his formative years working with his wise and demanding father as he sought to wrest a livelihood from a farm that was often wet, muddy, and back-breaking. It was a time before rural electrification, the telephone, and indoor plumbing; a time when the main modes of travel were bicycle and animal cart; a time when small farmers struggled to survive and turkey eggs were hatched in the kitchen cupboard; a time when the Church exerted enormous control over Ireland.

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It recounts Tom's upbringing in an isolated, rural community from the day he was delivered by the local midwife. With tears and laughter, it speaks to the strength of the human spirit in the face of life's adversities.

Author: 
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: 1 March 2020
Pages: 224
ISBN: 9781501197109 Category: Tags: ,

We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It : A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood

10.99

Usually ships in 2-3 days

Out of stock

© 2020 Antonia's Bookstore, All rights reserved.
0
Your Cart
Item added Item updated Item removed

No products in the basket.

crossmenu